2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize

We’re proud to celebrate the very best in Canadian fiction through our sponsorship of the Scotiabank Giller Prize.

The Scotiabank Giller Prize

The Scotiabank Giller Prize is the most prestigious literary prize in Canada, recognizing excellence in Canadian fiction.

In November 2021, Omar El Akkad won the Scotiabank Giller Prize for his novel, What Strange Paradise, published by McClelland & Stewart.

Make sure you mark your calendars to tune into the 2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize Winner Announcement on November 7th, broadcasted on CBC and CBC Gem at 9pm EST, presented commercial-free by Scotia Wealth Management.

Winner Announcement

2022 Key Dates

Longlist Announcement: September 6, 2022

Shortlist Announcement: September 27, 2022

Between The Pages Tour:
Follow the excitement of this year’s prize across the country through the Between the Pages tour, an opportunity for book lovers to come together for an up close and personal experience with the Scotiabank Giller Prize Finalists.

  • Ottawa: October 12, 2022
  • Vancouver: October 17, 2022
  • Calgary: October 19, 2022
  • Winnipeg: October 25, 2022
  • Halifax: October 27, 2022
  • Toronto: November 3, 2022

Winner Announcement: November 7, 2022