New Generation Photography Award

New Generation Photography Award

Date: Spring 2019
Location: Canadian Photography Institute


The New Generation Photography Award, in partnership with the Canadian Photography Institute of the National Gallery of Canada, is designed to support the careers of young artists and to help them reach their infinite potential.

This year’s winners of the annual prize are:

  • Luther Konadu, Winnipeg (Manitoba)
  • Ethan Murphy, Toronto (Ontario)
  • Zinnia Naqvi, Montreal (Quebec)

The New Generation Photography Award, established in 2018, celebrates three outstanding young Canadians working in lens-based art. The Award aims to elevate the careers of young artists and is unique in that it is the only dedicated prize offered to artists 30 and under, specific to lens-based art.

The winners will each receive:

  • A cash prize of $10,000.
  • The opportunity to be featured in two group exhibitions.
  1. Toronto: The Gladstone Hotel (2nd Floor Main Gallery) from May 1 - June 9, 2019
  2. Ottawa: National Gallery of Canada (Canadian Photography Institute PhotoLab) from September 27, 2019 - March 22, 2020
  • Award recipients will also be included in educational programming and present artist talks in September at the National Gallery of Canada.

2019 New Generation Photography Award Selection Process:

  • To be eligible for the New Generation Photography Award, recipients must be exhibited artists working in lens-based art, aged 30 and under, and a Canadian citizen or permanent resident.
  • The three recipients of the 2019 New Generation Photography Award were selected from the longlist by the award’s jury, consisting of Canadian and international photography experts, artists, and leaders in the community.

            Ann Thomas, Interim Chief Curator, National Gallery of Canada, Chair of the Jury;

            Angela Grauerholz, Artist and past Scotiabank Photography Award winner (2015);

            Deanna Pizzitelli, Artist and past winner of the New Generation Photography Award (2018); and,

            Erandy Vergara, Independent Curator.

The Award longlist was announced February 20, 2019. It included 23 young Canadian lens-based artists selected by the New Generation Photography Award Nomination Committee, a panel of 12 nominators who represent members of the arts community, including photography experts from arts universities and colleges across Canada.

In 2015, Scotiabank became the Founding Partner of the Canadian Photography Institute of the National Gallery of Canada with a $10 million gift, the largest in the Bank’s history. The New Generation Photography Award is part of the gift’s continued legacy. 

More information about the New Generation Photography Award can be found by visiting our Scotiabank newsroom or the Canadian Photography Institute website.” 

You might also be interested in

Scotiabank Photography Award

Celebrating the very best in Canadian contemporary photography.

More Details, Scotiabank Photography Award
Scotiabank Giller Prize

Celebrating 25 years of excellence in Canadian fiction.

More details, Scotiabank Giller Prize
Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival

See the world through a different lens. With over 1000 artists at 200 venues, don’t miss one of the largest photography festival in the world.

More Details, Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival