This year marks the 30th anniversary of the Scotiabank Giller Prize, so we're taking a look back at previous winners of the Canadian literary award over the years. You can also learn more about this year's five shortlisted authors and their nominated works here. The 2023 Scotiabank Giller Prize winner will be announced on Nov. 13 at 9 p.m. EST.

Here are all of the previous winners, beginning in 1994:

Related Scotiabank Giller Prize articles

Close-up of hands holding shortlisted books

Meet the 2023 Scotiabank Giller Prize shortlisted authors

Collage of previous shortlisted authors and their books

2023 Scotiabank Giller Prize shortlist of Canadian fiction authors announced