Scotiabank Giller Prize 2010 Announces Its Longlist

20 Sep 2010

September 20, 2010 (Toronto, ON) – The 2010 Scotiabank Giller Prize jury today announced its longlist of books in the running for this year’s award. The jury selected 13 titles out of 98 books, submitted by 38 publishers from every region of Canada.  

This year’s jury is made up of Canadian broadcaster and journalist Michael Enright, American author and professor Claire Messud, and award-winning UK writer Ali Smith.

Two thousand and ten marks the 17th year of the prize.

From a highly competitive field, the Scotiabank Giller Prize jury has selected the following titles for this year’s longlist:

**MEDIA NOTE: all resources are available at

Of the longlist, the jury writes:

"This is a vibrant and exciting list. We came very harmoniously to our final decision, which, in the ranging of its featured books between astonishing debuts and brilliant new work by already well-known, major Canadian writers, and between the historical and the contemporary, the traditional and the experimental, the long, the short and the unexpected in both story and form, stands as a showcase in its own right of the vision, the energy, the internationalism and the open-eyed versatility of contemporary Canadian fiction."

The shortlisted finalists will be announced at a news conference in Toronto on Tuesday, October 5th.



CTV is the proud broadcast partner of The Scotiabank Giller Prize. Broadcast details will be disclosed at a later date.

Scotiabank is committed to supporting the communities in which we live and work, both in Canada and abroad.  Recognized as a leader internationally and among Canadian corporations for its charitable donations and philanthropic activities, in 2008 the Bank provided about $43 million in sponsorships and donations to a variety of projects and initiatives, primarily in the areas of healthcare, education, social services and arts and culture. Visit us at
The Scotiabank Giller Prize awards $50,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English and $5,000 to each of the finalists. The Scotiabank Giller Prize is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller and was founded in 1994 by her husband Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch.